Cool FireFox 1.5 extension named Performancing let’s you easily blog to WordPress.com and other blogs straight from your browser

Posted on January 7, 2006. Filed under: blogging, WordPress 2.0, WordPress.com |

This is my first post to my blog using Performancing, which, once you give it the account information for your wordpress.com blog (it also works with blogger, movable type, wordpress installs on your own host (for which you have to choose ‘custom blog’), etc) allows you to post directly from your browser.  It makes it particularly easy to blog about any page you happy to be surfing past, which is very cool.  And you can set it up for as many blogs as you have (I for one have lost count)

Not only is the wysiwyg editor easier and faster to use (and less quirky), but it also provides more functionality (such as increase and decrease text size, change text color, full justify as an alignment option, and blockquotes.  You can also edit the html directly really easily, and supposedly it is supposed to also allow you to add technorati tags to your posts and automatically insert them for you (which is the main reason why I installed this FireFox extension)
.  I checked the option in the settings to have it auto-add the tags, but I don’t see anywhere to actually specify the tags you want to use (and finally figured out that I needed to also check the option to show advanced editing options.

Will post more about this tool later after I’ve used it more.  Let’s see how succesfully it publishes this to my blog (and how quickly…)

In answer to the ‘how quickly’ question — oh my god is it uber-fast!!  (Possible bug though — this line was previously bolded, and upon reediting the post it now shows up as unformatted text…)

I can see myself falling in love with this beautiful firefox extension

See my next post for instructions on how to add the technorati tags to your post

Technorati Tags: , , , , , ,

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Cool FireFox 1.5 extension named Performancing let’s you easily blog to WordPress.com and other blogs straight from your browser”

RSS Feed for WordPress Blogging Tips, Tricks, Themes, and Plugins Comments RSS Feed

[…] OK, so it took me a minute but I figured it out.  If you read my last post, I was trying to figure out how to get the uber-cool FireFox extension Performancing to add technorati tags to my posts, as I’d read it was capable of doing (and since this ‘feature’ is noticeably lacking  on WordPress.com, although Lorelle has a great post about a tagging bookmarklet for wordpress.com users) […]

Unfortunately, it doesn’t recognize <–more–> tag.

Sorry, I meant <!–more–>

[…] so it took me a minute but I figured it out.  If you read my last post, I was trying to figure out how to get the uber-cool FireFox extension Performancing to add […]


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    A ‘How To Blog’ guide for Wordpress users, with tips and tricks, theme and plugin info and reviews, and more

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

